A Whirlwind of Change (And Delicious Cookies to Eat Along the Way!)

Phew! What a bad blogger I’ve been. The past two months have been a non-stop sprint for me. In a nutshell, I:

  • Moved from Mpls, MN to Denver, CO (two-day road trip with giant Penske truck and two irritable cats = holy wow)
  • Nearly lost my cool when the whole state caught on fire (Read: High Park fire, Waldo Canyon fire, Springer Fire)
  • Started a new (dream) job as a content producer/editor for an agency in downtown Denver
  • Turned 23
  • Celebrated my two-year anniversary and then got engaged (!!!)
  • Moved into my very own apartment with the Fiance
  • Maintained Keto throughout the whole process, even though I drank more beers than I think I should have

I’ll spare the long-winded details of everything and get straight to the point: I found an awesome cookie recipe that won’t break my carb budget — it even lets me eat chocolate without repercussion. Here’s the awesomeness:

I’ve adapted this recipe to make it keto-friendly and golly, I can’t get enough of the darn things.

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup stevia in the raw (should measure equally)
  • 1 egg (use two if you want a less crumbly cookie/more protein)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 cup flax meal
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I’ve substituted a slightly smaller amount of NoSalt into mine for more potassium, but do as you see fit)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Unsweetened dried coconut shavings

Aaand you follow the same baking instructions:

“1. Cream stevia and butter in medium sized bowl. Add egg and vanilla extract, beat well.

2. Stir in Almond meal and flax meal, mix well. Add Cocoa powder, salt and baking powder.

3. Roll dough into 1 1/2″ sized balls and flatten out on greased or parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Space 3 inches apart.

4. Sprinkle a small amount of the coconut flakes on top of each cookie.

5. Bake in 325°F oven for 15 minutes. Cool completely before eating.

I like to freeze them and have one or two as late-night/work-day snacks. The fat from the butter and the fiber from the flax make them surprisingly satiating, and the coco powder/stevia mix always satisfies my chocolate cravings. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

