Bridal Fitness: Race Against Time

I’m 23 years old. In July I got engaged to my best friend. He makes me happy, makes me laugh, challenges me, inspires me with his ingenuity and ability to think beyond geometrical limitations (see: thinking outside the box), and he accepts me for who I am.

Wish I could say the same about myself.

You see, at 23 years, old I stand at 5’6’’ and weigh in at around 185 pounds. This puts me into the “overweight” category, almost “obese.” I’m not particularly happy about this, and although I feel OK most of the time, there are times when I step in front of my mirror, grab my belly and arch forward as if I’m in pain; in actuality, I’m just trying to hide myself from myself. The fact of the matter is that, although I avoid grains and sugars on a day-to-day basis, I’ve fallen back into the habit of drinking carb-laden craft beers when I get home, and I drink them as an accompaniment to my meals (which, generally speaking, is just as bad as eating white bread loaded with margarine). Sometimes I’ll have two beers. Or I might have a few mixed drinks. And so my hard work from earlier in the day is wiped out–all of the carbs I avoided throughout the day come back to bite me in the ass. And because of this, I get nowhere.

It doesn’t help that I’m relegated to a chair for half of the day, either. I’m not complaining for having a job, I know that sitting comes with the territory, but my lack of movement is starting to make my legs feel weak and my back feels tired. So, I try to get up every day during my lunch break and take walks around the neighborhood. It seems to be helping.

The real thing is, though, that I need to get in shape for my wedding. The big day is 205 days from today, October 24th. That’s about 30 weeks, and with around 40 pounds to lose, I need to lose upward of 1.5 pounds each week for the next 7-ish months to look golden.

So, as a part of my continuing journey into the Paleo lifestyle, I’ve decided to take a turn with this blog (at least partially) and convert it into my bridal fitness blog. I decided to start an at-home crossfit routine in combination with a Paleo lifestyle. Paleo means eating a lot of vegetables, a lot of organic meats, nuts and seeds, and a few fruits thrown into the mix. It means moving often throughout the day, and drinking a lot of water.

So what to do?

I suppose the first order of business is to set some goals for myself. Short- and long-term goals. What could I do? Let’s lay some things out:

SW: 185-190
GW: 140-145
CW: 185-190

Weight Goals

Goal One: 12/5/2012 – 180#

  • Back massage/spa treatment

Goal Two: 3/13/2013 -165#

  • New haircut (nothing too short!)
  • Mani/pedi treatment

Goal Three: 5/8/2013  – 140#

  • New lingerie
  • New wardrobe
  • New running shoes

Additional Goals:

  • 11/1/2012 – Quit smoking

Weekly Goals

Weeks 1-5: 10/24/2012 – 11/28/2012

  • Walk at least 30 minutes each day, 5-6x a week (lunch walks)
  • Limit drinks to 1 night per week (Monday, Friday or Saturday)
  • Train in crossfit 5x a week

Weeks 5-10: 11/28/2012 – 1/2/2013

  • Walk at least 30 minutes each day, 5-6x a week (lunch walks)
  • Limit drinks to 1 night per week (Monday, Friday or Saturday)
  • Train in crossfit 5x a week

Weeks 10-15: 1/2/2013 – 2/6/2013

  • Walk at least 30 minutes each day, 5-6x a week (lunch walks)
  • Limit drinks to 1 night per week (Monday, Friday or Saturday)
  • Train in crossfit 5x a week
  • Run 5k 1x a week in 40 minutes or less

Weeks 15-20: 2/62013 – 3/13/2013

  • Walk at least 30 minutes each day, 5-6 days a week (lunch walks)
  • Limit drinks to 1 night per week (Monday, Friday or Saturday)
  • Train in crossfit 3-4x a week
  • Run 5k once a week in 35 minutes or less

Weeks 20-25: 3/13/2013 – 4/17/2013

  • Walk at least 30 minutes each day, 5-6x a week (lunch walks)
  • Limit drinks to 1 night per week (Monday, Friday or Saturday)
  • Train in crossfit 3-4x a week
  • Run 5k 1x a week in 30 minutes or less

Weeks 25-29: 4/17/2013 – 5/15/2013

  • Walk at least 30 minutes each day, 5-6x a week (lunch walks)
  • Limit drinks to 1 night per week (Monday, Friday or Saturday)
  • Train in crossfit 2-3x a week
  • Run 5k 1x a week in 25 minutes or under

What Next?

I invite all future brides, future grooms, future whatevers to join me in losing weight and gaining a more healthful outlook on life. My time is running short, and having others who can work alongside me–who can encourage me, and who can benefit from my encouragement–will make all the difference.

Are you in?

2 thoughts on “Bridal Fitness: Race Against Time

  1. Way to go! I am so happy to see friends adopting goals and serious plans for self-improvement (as opposed to the vague ideas that a lot of people express but never follow through on)! I can’t do much to help from far away, but I am proud that you are taking these steps.

    • Thanks, Joe! It’s definitely something that needed to be done for a long time. I think the need to fit into a tiny white dress is good motivation, and the added benefit is my overall health once I get there. Stay in touch!

Leave a Reply

