Bridal Fitness: The Non-Scale Victory

Victory! credit ana_c_golpe on MorgueFile

Victory!

One of the best things about losing weight isn’t seeing the numbers on the scale move down, it’s the rewards you feel and see in yourself (and that others begin to see in you) as the weight starts to fall off. These good feelings and accomplishments are referred to as NSVs, or Non-Scale Victories, among many in the fitness community.

A non-scale victory ranges from fitting into a pair of pants that you haven’t been able to wear in years and walking up a flight of stairs without losing your breath to getting complimented about “slimming down” and having more energy throughout the day. Sometimes, a NSV is more exciting than the actual numbers on the scale, because the NSV is something that positively affects your life on a day-to-day basis.

I’ve been tracking and measuring and applying myself to my diet for 15 days, and in that time, I’ve already lost over 5#, and I’ve come up to some of my own NSVs. I feel better and better every day, and I’m finding it easier to say no to things that might’ve tempted me before.

Here are a few of my own NSVs since starting on October 25th:

  • I purchased a pair of jeans from the Gap Outlet several weeks ago, and I bought them knowing that they were a bit too snug for comfort. When I woke up this morning, I slipped them on, and I’ve been wearing them comfortably all day.
  • I quit smoking on Oct. 31, and haven’t had a cigarette since (7 days and counting)
  • I’m starting to see more muscle definition in my legs, my arms and my stomach, while simultaneously seeing the pudge in those areas very slowly reduce.
  • I’m able to bench 15 pounds with each arm, rather than the 10 I started off with (don’t laugh, my arms have always been my weakest area)
  • I’ve only had two alcoholic drinks total since starting 15 days ago

The little victories are what make the journey to the final goal more enjoyable. What kinds of NSVs have you had in your journey to fitness? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

