Get up and Move! 10 Songs to Inspire Your Workouts

"Sun" by Caribou

“Sun” by Caribou

Anyone who knows me well enough knows that music is one of those things I’m not likely to go without for very long. Whether I’m rocking out in my office chair, pumping iron at the gym or relaxing at home after a long day of work, there’s not much else that makes time fly so enjoyably.

So, in the spirit of my lifelong companion, I’d like to share some songs that are especially motivating for me when I strap my running shoes on and hit the gym floor. If you have any you’d like to add to the list, let me know in the comments below!

Langhorne Slim and The Law – “The Way We Move”
If you’re looking for a way to inspire yourself to move, well, this may very well be your song. Get up and dance!

Caribou – “Sun”
I’ve touted my obsession with this song around for a long time, and for good reason. Just watch those people dance! Don’t you want to dance now? Come on! Get up and do it!

Chilly Gonzales – “Never Stop (Rap Mix)” [warning: language]
There’s little I wouldn’t do to have that lady’s hooping skills. Seriously. Look at that.

Girl Talk – “Play Your Part (pt. 1) [warning: language]
I absolutely love Girl Talk because he has probably angered more hip hop artists than anyone else out there. And his mashups are pure genius. Perfect if you’ve got some time to dance by yourself in an embarrassingly animated fashion (trust me, I do this all the time)

Dan Deacon – “True Thrush”
I love Dan Deacon. I imagine this song would be really inspiring on a bike ride through the country, or while jogging like a champ up a bunch of stairs.

Crystal Castles – “Baptism”
There’s no doubt Alice Glass and Ethan Catheter are really weird people who make weird music. But it’s good music. Especially if you’re a robot.

RJD2 – “1976”
I remember a guy in high school who used to dance to this song during theater practice. All the girls swooned over him. Don’t you want the girls(or guys) swooning over you, too?

Royksopp – “Happy Up Here”
You know I really like it!

Pictureplane – “Goth Star”
Even if you’re not goth, you’ll feel like a star pumping iron to this song. Trust me. I’ve done it.

Four Tet – “Smile Around the Face”
I know the guy in the video isn’t necessarily smiling. Just listen to the music and let it course through you as you sprint toward the horizon.

3 thoughts on “Get up and Move! 10 Songs to Inspire Your Workouts

Leave a Reply

