Bridal Fitness: A Progress Report, and Sweet Potatoes to Boot

Aaaaahh!Happy Wednesday! I’m here with a brief progress report and a featured recipe that I just can’t get enough of: oven-roasted purple sweet potatoes.

First, a progress report. As you may have seen in my last post, I finally broke through my plateau by cutting alcohol out of my diet. I was going through a nasty bout of some bug for about 3 weeks during the holidays, which stunted my exercise efforts and made me crave good ol’ comfort foods (though I had an answer to that problem).

Nevertheless, once sickness had passed and I figured out what I needed to do, I dropped several pounds and started feeling back on top of my game. Oh, but it doesn’t stop there… I’ve lost even more!

Since my post about a week ago, I dropped below the 180 line and have managed to fit comfortably into several older pairs of pants that had been too small for me for the past two years. I’ve also started running again, and managed to complete a walk-run 5k in 45 minutes.

It’s a great feeling, folks.

I’m hoping that by the time my wedding rolls around, I’ll be under 170 (I’m about 7-8 pounds away) and a lot more comfortable showing off my arms and back. Heck, maybe I’ll even be able to run a 5k without stopping. Who knows?

Oven Roasted Sweet PotatoesWell, enough blabbing about myself. Here’s a recipe that’s super simple and melt-in-your-mouth delicious:

Oven-roasted purple sweet potatoes. 

You’ll need:

  • two purple sweet potatoes, medium in size, chopped into 1-inch circles
  • 1/4 C. virgin coconut oil
  • ground cinnamon
  • tinfoil
  • an oven heated to 325
  • 1.5-2.0 hours

So, all you need to do is cut those potatoes up into circles about 1-inch wide. Melt the coconut oil and toss the potatoes with the oil in a mixing bowl. Sprinkle in a tiny amount of cinnamon, just enough to get a bit on each piece. Wrap the potatoes in tinfoil, then bake in the oven for 1.5-2.0 hours. They’ll get extremely moist and lightly fragrant. Once they’re out of the oven, coat them lightly with cinnamon, serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

