Keep Calm and Curry On

Curry OnI love Indian food. The unfortunate part of this is that when it comes to restaurant Indian food, it’s often loaded with things that aren’t exactly paleo-friendly: rice, rice flour, potatoes, lentils and wheat-based products, like naan. Delicious, buttery naan. Mmmm.

Anyway, I was craving something a little exotic the other night but wasn’t willing to brave the cold or spend the money on something I could just as easily make at home. After rummaging through my fridge for several minutes, I came out with a bag of sweet peppers, some chicken and an onion that needed some attention fast.

Curry! Of course.

I got busy chopping up my ingredients and pulled all the spices out of the cabinet before I finally realized: I’ve never actually made curry before.

Of course, that didn’t stop me. I mean, who hasn’t heard of the internet? I quickly looked around at similar websites, gathered a few ideas and came up with this mash of a recipe. If I can be completely honest, I think it came out awesome. Then again, I really wanted curry that night, so I might be biased.

Paleo Yellow Curry with Chicken and Sweet Peppers

Prep time: 10 minutes; Cook time: 40 minutes. Makes 2-4 servings, (depending on how hungry you are)

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs chicken breast, thawed and cut into 1/2-inch slices
  • 1 med yellow onion, sliced thin
  • 4 medium-sized sweet peppers, cut into thin slices
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 tbsp curry powder (I used yellow curry)
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • Ground red pepper
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 can coconut milk
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 Tbsp cilantro
  • Ground cinnamon

Onions and Peppers

Directions:

  • In a large pan over medium heat, melt the coconut oil and cook the chicken in the oil until it’s about halfway done.
  • Add in the sliced onion and peppers. Sauté lightly.
  • Add the curry powder, garlic, red pepper and salt. Stir well, until the chicken and veggies are completely coated. Let that cook for another 3 minutes on medium-low heat.
  • Add the coconut milk and chicken broth, stir well, and turn the heat down to low. Let it simmer for approximately 30 minutes.
  • Add in the cilantro and a dash of cinnamon. Stir it in, and let it simmer for another 10 minutes.

I served my curry with a side of one of my absolute favorite dishes: oven-roasted Brussels sprouts. I guess we’ll consider it a culture clash!

Leave a Reply

